1st appointment

Hearing Assessment and Hearing Aid Selection

A hearing assessment will be done by our Audiologist/ Hearing Professional. Based on the results and your lifestyle, we will discuss with you which hearing aid technology is best suited to meet your communication needs. Only deposit needs to be paid for the order. Ear impressions are taken at the end of appointment for ear shell or ear mould making

2nd appointment

Hearing Prescription (and 2 weeks trial)

1 week after, hearing aids have been made and set up. You and your family members will be taught how to use and take care of your hearing aid. The balance needs to be paid and you can then bring
the hearing aid back home for testing the real life performance

3rd appointment

Fine-tuning

2 weeks after, we would discuss with you on your progress. Fine adjustment might be provided if necessary. Maintenance tips would be given as well. Refund if necessary

Regular follow ups are advised at least twice a year to check your hearing status. Fine adjustment might be provided if necessary

Hearing Aid Fitting For Elderly

Pure tone Audiometry **Hearing Test for* would be performed to assess the hearing levels of the elderly. Different hearing aid models would be suggested for trial based on the results of the
hearing test, lifestyle, budget, etc. Each hearing aid type has different strengths and weaknesses and differing suitability for different people. H earing professionals would also recommend the most suitable *Style of hearing aid* to the elderly according to their preference s degree of hearing loss, as well a s manual dexterity.

Should I clean my ears with cotton buds?
What the audiologists say:

Naturally the earwax moves slowly out of your ear canal. Using cotton buds can push the earwax deeper into the ear canal. It is advised to see an ENT specialist for earwax removal if you feel you have a problem with earwax.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What should I do if my ears always feel wet?
What the audiologists say:

It is suggested to consult an ENT specialist if such problem lasts for a long period of time.

Dr. Nelson Wong
Can tinnitus be cured?
What the audiologists say:

It is important to understand that tinnitus is a symptom rather than an illness, so the problem of tinnitus can only be alleviated.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What are the differences between an over-the-counter (OTC) hearing aid and a hearing aid from a hearing aid company?
What the audiologists say:

In a hearing aid company, a hearing test will be done at the beginning, then the hearing aid is set according to the hearing level. More importantly, lifelong fine-tuning is offered; while if you buy an OTC hearing aid, that hearing aid is not customized to the hearing level and no after-sales service is provided .

Dr. Nelson Wong
Will it be too noisy when wearing a hearing aid?
What the audiologists say:

For a first-time hearing aid user, he/she has not been hearing some background sounds for various periods of time owing to the hearing loss, so when putting on the hearing aid, the the background sounds being amplified may sound too loud at the beginning . When the user gets used to the hearing aid usage, he/she may feel better. Additionally with the advancement of noise reduction technology, hearing aid user shall have a much comfortable experience.

Dr. Nelson Wong
Does sleeping with earphones affect my hearing?
What the audiologists say:

When you are sleeping with earphones every night, your ears will be constantly stimulated by music, so after a long period of time, the hearing may be affected eventually.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What is the characteristics of sound?
What the audiologists say:

Sound or noise has two characteristics: Frequency (i.e. pitch) and Loudness

Dr. Nelson Wong
What is frequency?
What the audiologists say:

Sound is the quickly varying pressure wave induced by particle vibration through a medium (air, liquid or solid). The number of pressure variations per second is known as frequency of sound, measured in Hertz (Hz).

The higher the frequency i.e, the more cycles of vibration per second, the higher the pitch. On the other hand, the lower the frequency, i.e., the fewer cycles of vibration per seconder, the lower the pitch would be. The audible frequency range of human ear is from 20 to 200,000 Hz while the major frequencies for speech lies between 500 –4,000 Hz.

Dr. Nelson Wong
How to measure loudness?
What the audiologists say:

Loudness of sound is determined by the degree of particle vibration. A loud sound usually has a larger pressure variation while a weak one has smaller pressure variation. A simpler way is to measure in decibel (dB). The softest sound a normal human ear can detect i s known as the Threshold of Hearing, which uses the hearing threshold as 0 dB.

Dr. Nelson Wong

第一次 預約

聽力檢查,選擇合適的助聽器

聽力專家會先幫您檢查聽力,了解並分析您的聽力狀況,然後根據您的生活需要,幫助您選擇合適的助聽器。當天只需支付按金去訂製助聽器。在決定佩戴款式後,我們會為您印取耳型,以製作耳模之用。

第二次 預約

調校(及試戴助聽器)

一星期後,助聽器已訂製完成。我們會為您初步調校助聽器,同時講解助聽器使用及佩戴方法。支付按金的尾數後,您可以親身體驗助聽器對您日常生活當中的幫助。

第三次 預約

助聽器微調

兩星期後,我們會根據您試用後的回應而微調助聽器,其後會詳細講解清潔方法和保養。

成功佩戴後,使用者應最少每年一至兩次約見聽力專家,接受聽覺覆檢及助聽器檢查,以了解弱聽程度之變化,及在有需要時微調助聽器

長者助聽器 驗配

長者助聽器驗配的流程與一般成人無異,聽力專家會建議老人家先接受長者聽力測試以了解聽力程度,有關長者聽力測試的詳情可瀏覽成人聽力測試。測試後聽力專家會根據測試結果,以及長者日常的生活習慣、聽力需求而建議不同型號的助聽器供長者試戴。試戴過程中聽力專家亦會根據長者的個人喜好、手指靈活程度及個人需要建議最適合的助聽器款式,方便長者日常使用。

可唔可以用棉花棒撩耳仔?
專家話你知:

耳垢一般會自然排出,用棉花棒清理會將耳垢越推越入,令耳垢堆積於耳道中。如問題嚴重,可尋找耳鼻喉科醫生清理。

黃栢雄博士
耳仔成日濕濕地點算?
專家話你知:

如問題持續,建議尋找耳鼻喉科醫生處理。

黃栢雄博士
耳鳴有冇得醫?
專家話你知:

耳鳴是一個病徵,而不是一個病症,故此耳鳴不能根治,只可舒緩其問題。

黃栢雄博士
街邊或百貨公司買既擴音機或聽力產品同助聽器有咩分別?
專家話你知:

如從助聽器公司購買助聽器,一般會先進行聽力測試,及後聽力專家會根據聽力檢查結果對助聽器進行調校,更重要的是助聽器公司會提供終生調校服務;如從街邊或百貨公司購買助聽器,助聽器並不會根據每位用家的聽力度數而設,且一般不設售後服務。

黃栢雄博士
助聽器會唔會好嘈?
專家話你知:

對於初次助聽器用家而言,因為弱聽的問題,他們長時間沒有聽到背景聲音。當一戴上助聽器時,那些長久沒有接觸的聲音都被助聽器放大,因此很多時候初次助聽器用家都會覺得很嘈吵,但只要習慣一段時間,情況會有所改善。此外,現時助聽器的減嘈音技術已大大提升,助聽器用家可享更佳的聆聽體驗。

黃栢雄博士
戴住耳筒聽歌訓覺會影響聽力?
專家話你知:

當每晚睡覺時都戴耳機聽音樂時,耳朵便會長時間受到音樂集中刺激,長久下去聽力都可能會受損。

黃栢雄博士
聲音的特性?
專家話你知:

聲音或噪音有兩種特性:頻率(即音調)和聲量。

黃栢雄博士
甚麼是頻率?
專家話你知:

聲音是經媒介(空氣、液體、固體)中的粒子振動而造成的壓力變化,每一秒壓力變化的次數叫作頻率,其量度單位是赫茲(Hz)。

頻率越高,即表示每秒振動次數越多,音調便越高;相反,頻率越低,即每秒的振動次數越少,音調就越低。通常人類耳朵能聽到的聲音頻率範圍由20 –200,000 Hz,而主要語音範圍由500 –4,000 Hz。

黃栢雄博士
怎樣量度聲量大小?
專家話你知:

聲音大小由粒子振動幅大小而決定,響亮的聲音通常有較大的壓力變化,微弱的聲音壓力變化則較小。我們會採用較簡單的量度單位分貝(dB)來量度聲音。正常的人耳能夠聽到最微弱的聲音叫作「聽覺閾」,並定義這水平為0分貝(dB)。

黃栢雄博士