Different earmoulds can meet different needs. Hearing aids are paired with specific earmoulds to transmit the amplified sound to the ear canals and the eardrums. People with recurrent ear inflammation can use the swimming earmould to prevent water from entering the ear. People often stay in noisy environments can use earplugs to protect their hearing.

To achieve the best fitting outcomes, earmoulds have to be tailor-made. The audiologist will first take the ear impression, and then the technician will make the earmould according to the impression.

During impression taking, the hearing care professional first puts a piece of sponge or cotton dam into the ear canal, and then squeezes the impression materials into the canal with the use of syringe. After the impression material is hardened, it can then be taken out.

The hard earmould is made of acrylic; while the soft earmould is made of silicone. It can be cleaned with disinfectant alcohol or soapy water (note that the earmould must be separated from the hearing aid before cleaning). With proper storage and maintenance, earmoulds can be used for about three years or more.

Swimming earmould

The tailor-made earmould can effectively seal the ear canal, prevent the unclean water from entering the ear during shampooing and swimming, and thus reduce the chance of ear infection.

Typical used by the people who have:

  • eardrum perforation
  • in-situ grommet in the eardrum for removal of the middle ear fluid
  • the ear canal being prone to inflammation especially when it has eczema or excessive earwax but they still want to go swimming

Soundproof earplug

Depending on the tightness and the material of the earmould and the frequency of the external noise, in general, the soundproof earplug can attenuate external sounds. If the sleeping environment is noisy, the earplugs can provide you with a quieter environment to fall asleep.

Typically used by the people who:

  • want to reduce the nuisance of external sounds while sleeping or studying

Musician earplug

Long-term exposure to the sound greater than 85 decibels poses a threat to hearing, and instrumental sounds, singing voices, etc. are of no exception. Musician earplugs can effectively reduce the sound levels of the instrumental sounds/amplified voices going into the ears, while preserving these sounds as natural as possible, allowing you to protect your hearing and continue to enjoy music or concerts.

Typically used by the people who are:

  • professional instrument players
  • singers
  • attending concerts frequently
  • engaged in audio related work

Hard acrylic earmould (for hearing aids)

Generally, adult hearing aid users prefer using hard acrylic earmoulds. Hard acrylics earmoulds are generally durable and easy to remove. Mini Receiver-In -the-Ear (m-RITE) hearing aids are fit with micro-earmoulds which are trendy, smaller and lighter; while behind-the-ear (BTE) hearing aids are fit with traditional larger earmoulds.

Soft silicon earmould (for hearing aids)

The soft silicon earmould provides tighter acoustic seal than the hard acrylic earmould, so it can lower the chance of sound leakage from the hearing aid, avoid the buzzing feedback when using the hearing aid, and is more suitable for people using powerful hearing aids (i.e., severe to profound hearing loss). However, due to the tightness of the silicon material, it may be difficult for the new hearing aid user to wear the earmould. In general, they can learn how to put in and take out the earmould properly after they gain the experience.

In addition, because of the soft nature of the material, in case the earmould is broken, the soft silicon earmould would be safer to use than the hard acrylic earmould. Therefore, active children are recommended to use soft silicon earmoulds to reduce the chance of getting injured in case the earmould is broken.

For the following people who:

  • suffer from severe to profound hearing loss
  • are infant/young children

Disposable Earpiece (Dome) (for hearing aids)

The domes range from open, single and double layers, and are available in different sizes.

For people only with high frequency hearing loss, hearing aid fitting using traditional earmould may cause echoes when they speak due to good low frequency hearing. Dome fitting , on the one hand, can transmit the high-frequency sounds from the hearing aid to the ear canal, and the holes can also allow the low frequency component of own voice to escape, so that the hearing aid user could enjoy a much more natural soundscape comparing to the use of traditional earmoulds.

In addition, since dome fitting does not require ear impression taking, the hearing aid can be instantly fit. That is, client does not need to wait for the production of the earmould nor the custom-made hearing aid. However, dome fitting is not tailor-made and its acoustic effect may not be as good as using custom-made earmould or shell.

Only for m-RITE hearing aids, often used for people who:

  • have good low frequency hearing and poor high frequency hearing
  • need instant fitting after the hearing aid trial session

不同耳模能滿足不同的需要。耳模能有效地封存助聽器的聲音,耳朵容易發炎的人士可使用游水耳模防止耳朵入水,常於噪音環境的人士可使用隔音耳塞保護聽覺。

不同耳模能滿足不同的需要。耳模能有效地封存助聽器的聲音,耳朵容易發炎的人士可使用游水耳模防止耳朵入水,常於噪音環境的人士可使用隔音耳塞保護聽覺。

為達致最佳效果,耳模絕大部分是度身訂做。聽力學家會先為你耳道及耳朵的形狀倒模,然後技術員再根據倒模製做耳模。倒模時,聽力專家先會把一片海棉放進耳道,再以針筒把模料擠進耳道,待模料硬化後就能將倒模取出。

硬膠耳模由亞加力膠製成,而軟模則由矽膠製成,皆可用消毒酒精或肥皂水清潔 (注意耳模需先與助聽器分離方可清洗)。若能適當儲存及保養,助聽器耳模平均可使用約三年或更長時間。

硬膠耳模由亞加力膠製成,而軟模則由矽膠製成,皆可用消毒酒精或肥皂水清潔 (注意耳模需先與助聽器分離方可清洗)。若能適當儲存及保養,助聽器耳模平均可使用約三年或更長時間。

游泳耳模

度身訂做的耳模能密封耳道,防止耳朵於洗頭、游泳時入水,減低耳朵受水中細菌感染而發炎的機會。

適用於以下人士:

  • 耳膜穿孔
  • 耳膜已放置導管清除中耳積水
  • 經常游泳而耳道容易發炎,特別是當耳道患有濕疹或耳垢過多時

隔音耳塞

視乎耳模的緊貼程度和外間噪音的頻率,一般來說,隔音耳塞能把外界聲音減低。如果睡眠環境較嘈吵,隔音耳塞能為你提供一個較寧靜的環境入睡。

適用於以下人士:

  • 欲減低外界聲音滋擾,如睡覺、溫習時適用

音樂耳塞

長期接觸任何大於八十五分貝的聲音會對聽力健康構成威脅,樂器聲、歌聲等也不例外。音樂耳塞能有效減低樂器/歌聲的聲量,同時精準地保留不同聲音,讓你保護聽覺之餘又能繼續欣賞音樂或演唱會。

適用於以下人士:

  • 長期演奏樂器
  • 歌唱者
  • 經常出席演唱會
  • 從事音響相關工作

硬膠耳模(助聽器適用)

一般成人助聽器使用者均使用硬膠耳模。迷你耳背式的耳機會配上較細小輕便的耳模,而耳背式的助聽器則會配上較大的耳模。硬膠耳模一般較耐用,並易於除戴。

軟膠耳模(助聽器適用)

軟膠耳模較硬膠耳模緊貼耳朵,可減低助聽器聲音漏聲的機會,避免使用助聽器時產生嘯叫聲,適合助聽器較大聲 (即度數較深) 的人士使用。不過由於軟膠物料較緊貼,使用者初期除戴耳模時可能會較困難,但一段時間後就會習慣。

另外由於物料軟身,如果耳模破裂時,軟膠耳模相比硬膠耳模較為安全。因此,好動的小朋友一般會使用軟膠耳模,減低耳模破裂時的傷害。

適用於以下使用助聽器的人士:

  • 患有深度弱聽
  • 小朋友

即用耳模(助聽器適用)

即用耳模分為開放式、單層及雙層等款式,備有不同尺碼以供選擇。

對於只患有高頻弱聽的人士,使用一般耳模可能會使他們在說話時產生迴音,故需要一些可疏導聲音的耳模,讓自己說話的聲音不會被困在耳道內。開放式耳模一方面能把助聽器的高頻聲音傳入耳道,同時氣孔能使自己說話的聲音流出外面,讓使用者聽聲音和說話都感覺自然。

另外,由於即用耳模不需要倒模,可供即時使用助聽器,省卻等候耳模製造的時間。不過,即用耳模始終並非根據耳道形狀製作,故聲音效果可能不及倒模訂製的耳模好。

只適用於迷你耳背式助聽器,常用於以下人士:

  • 低頻度數好而高頻度數差
  • 試戴助聽器後即時取機