Causes of Hearing loss in Adult 1. Gradual (as in aging); 2. Sudden (as in viral infection, meningitis etc.); 3. Fluctuating (as in Meniere’s Disease)

Hearing loss is measured in decibel (dB). This number represents the softest level one can hear. In general, people with normal hearing (-10 to 25 dB) can hear most speech sounds in quiet and comfortable listening situations. If one can only hear sounds when they are at 30 dB or more, he or she may have a hearing loss. The levels of hearing loss are generally classified as mild, moderate, moderately-severe, severe, and profound.

Please check below different levels and
symptoms of hearing loss:

Mild hearing loss (26-40 dB) : can hear reasonably well in one-on-one conversation but may miss some words or speech sounds when speech is too soft or when there is background noise present

Moderate hearing loss (41-55 dB) : have difficulties to hear soft speech, can only hear about 50% of daily conversations

Moderately severe hearing loss (56-70 dB) : miss a lot of speech sounds and telephone conversation, have difficulty following speech without a hearing aid

Severe hearing loss (71-90 dB) : miss the vast majority of conversational speech and the of telephones will be very difficult, need hearing aids to perceive speech sounds almost all of the time

Profound hearing loss (91 dB+) : cannot hear speech sounds even if they are very loud, need hearing aids or cochlear implants to perceive speech sounds, rely mainly on lip-reading and/or sign language

If you have the above symptoms, please contact us for an appointment of Free hearing test.

There are three types of hearing loss:
Conductive, Sensorineural and Mixed

Conductive hearing loss

Conductive hearing loss: caused by problems in the outer and/or middle ear, which dampen sounds getting through to the inner ear. The common causes include a build-up of earwax in the canal, eardrum perforation, fluid in the middle ear, and damaged or defective middle ear bones (ossicles).

Treatment: Hearing test(s) would be advisedto confirm the type and level of hearing loss, and clients should consultdoctor and/orspecialists for further action; generally it can be alleviated by medications or surgery. Yet, for some cases hearing aid might be a better option.

Sensorineural hearing loss

Sensorineural hearing loss: caused by damage or malfunction of the inner ear and/or the auditory nerve. The common causes include aging, viral infection, Meniere’s Disease, head injury, ototoxic drugs, or prolonged noise exposure.

Treatment: Hearing test(s) would b e advised to confirm the level of hearing loss, and then
consult hearing specialists for hearing aids fitting; most cases cannot be alleviated by medications or surgery. Hearing aids could be very helpful. People with severe to profound impairment can consider having cochlear implants.

Mixed hearing loss:

Mixed hearing loss: caused by a combination of problems in the middle and the inner ear, i.e., having both conductive hearing loss and sensorineural hearing loss at the same time and in the same ear or ears.

Treatment: maybe alleviated by medications or surgery, whether need to wear hearing aid or not depends on the severity of your hearing loss after treatment.

To know more about Your Hearing

Take a few minutes to do the Free Online Hearing Screen ing and Self Hearing Test Questionnaire

Learn More
Should I clean my ears with cotton buds?
What the audiologists say:

Naturally the earwax moves slowly out of your ear canal. Using cotton buds can push the earwax deeper into the ear canal. It is advised to see an ENT specialist for earwax removal if you feel you have a problem with earwax.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What should I do if my ears always feel wet?
What the audiologists say:

It is suggested to consult an ENT specialist if such problem lasts for a long period of time.

Dr. Nelson Wong
Can tinnitus be cured?
What the audiologists say:

It is important to understand that tinnitus is a symptom rather than an illness, so the problem of tinnitus can only be alleviated.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What are the differences between an over-the-counter (OTC) hearing aid and a hearing aid from a hearing aid company?
What the audiologists say:

In a hearing aid company, a hearing test will be done at the beginning, then the hearing aid is set according to the hearing level. More importantly, lifelong fine-tuning is offered; while if you buy an OTC hearing aid, that hearing aid is not customized to the hearing level and no after-sales service is provided .

Dr. Nelson Wong
Will it be too noisy when wearing a hearing aid?
What the audiologists say:

For a first-time hearing aid user, he/she has not been hearing some background sounds for various periods of time owing to the hearing loss, so when putting on the hearing aid, the the background sounds being amplified may sound too loud at the beginning . When the user gets used to the hearing aid usage, he/she may feel better. Additionally with the advancement of noise reduction technology, hearing aid user shall have a much comfortable experience.

Dr. Nelson Wong
Does sleeping with earphones affect my hearing?
What the audiologists say:

When you are sleeping with earphones every night, your ears will be constantly stimulated by music, so after a long period of time, the hearing may be affected eventually.

Dr. Nelson Wong
What is the characteristics of sound?
What the audiologists say:

Sound or noise has two characteristics: Frequency (i.e. pitch) and Loudness

Dr. Nelson Wong
What is frequency?
What the audiologists say:

Sound is the quickly varying pressure wave induced by particle vibration through a medium (air, liquid or solid). The number of pressure variations per second is known as frequency of sound, measured in Hertz (Hz).

The higher the frequency i.e, the more cycles of vibration per second, the higher the pitch. On the other hand, the lower the frequency, i.e., the fewer cycles of vibration per seconder, the lower the pitch would be. The audible frequency range of human ear is from 20 to 200,000 Hz while the major frequencies for speech lies between 500 –4,000 Hz.

Dr. Nelson Wong
How to measure loudness?
What the audiologists say:

Loudness of sound is determined by the degree of particle vibration. A loud sound usually has a larger pressure variation while a weak one has smaller pressure variation. A simpler way is to measure in decibel (dB). The softest sound a normal human ear can detect i s known as the Threshold of Hearing, which uses the hearing threshold as 0 dB.

Dr. Nelson Wong

成人弱聽的原因 – 1. 漸漸惡化 (如:退化);2. 突發性 (如:細菌感染、腦膜炎等);3. 間歇性 (如:曼尼爾氏症)

正常的聽覺閾值為 -10至25分貝,當音量大於25分貝才能被聽見時,便被界定為弱聽,即聽力減退。弱聽可按其程度分為輕度、中度、中度嚴重、嚴重及深度弱聽五個級別。

成人弱聽的原因 – 1. 漸漸惡化 (如:退化);2. 突發性 (如:細菌感染、腦膜炎等);3. 間歇性 (如:曼尼爾氏症)

正常的聽覺閾值為 -10至25分貝,當音量大於25分貝才能被聽見時,便被界定為弱聽,即聽力減退。弱聽可按其程度分為輕度、中度、中度嚴重、嚴重及深度弱聽五個級別。

以下簡單陳述不同的
弱聽程度及弱聽徵兆:

輕度弱聽(26-40分貝) : 聽不到日常說話的部分音節,有機會不能在嘈雜環境中聽得清楚

中度弱聽(41-55分貝) : 不能聽到微弱的聲音,大概只能聽到日常說話聲音的50%

中度嚴重弱聽(56-70分貝) : 愈來愈難理解語言,但可從助聽器中得到幫助

嚴重弱聽(71-90分貝) : 近乎聽不到日常說話的聲音,聽電話非常困難,一定要佩戴助聽器方可溝通

深度弱聽(91分貝以上) : 完全聽不到日常說話聲音,一定要佩戴助聽器甚至使用人工耳蝸方可溝通,輔以讀唇或/及手語進行交流

如發現有上述弱聽徵兆請盡快進行聽力測試

弱聽原因大致可分為三個類別:
傳導性、感音神經性及混合性

弱聽原因大致可分為三個類別:
傳導性、感音神經性及混合性

傳導性 弱聽

傳導性弱聽: 由中耳或外耳的問題所引起,令外界的聲音不能正常地經外耳、耳道、中耳將聲音傳入內耳之中。常見成因包括:耳垢積聚、穿耳膜、中耳積水、耳骨受損等

治療方法:傳導性弱聽人士需要先接受詳細聽力測試確認弱聽情況,再由醫生診斷轉介。一般可透過藥物或手術治療,在某些特殊程況下,醫生/聽力專家會建議傳導性弱聽人士選配助聽器

感音神經性 弱聽

感音神經性弱聽: 由於內耳的毛細胞或聽覺神經受損所致。常見成因包括:自然老化、細菌感染內耳、耳水不平衡、頭部受創、服用耳毒性藥物或長期過度曝露於高噪音環境下所造成

治療方法:感音神經性弱聽人士需要先接受詳細聽力測試確認弱聽程度,再由聽力專家驗配助聽器。大部份情況無法透過藥物或手術治療減輕聽障程度,佩戴助聽器能有效改善聽力,嚴重或深度弱聽人士可考慮植入人工耳蝸

混合性 弱聽

混合性弱聽:中耳及內耳的問題同時在同一耳朵出現而造成,即同一耳朵同時間有傳導性弱聽及感音神經性弱聽

治療方法:混合性弱聽人士有可能透過藥物或手術治療減輕傳導性部份的聽障程度,需按治療後的聽力情況去決定是否需要佩戴助聽器

傳導性 弱聽

傳導性弱聽: 由中耳或外耳的問題所引起,令外界的聲音不能正常地經外耳、耳道、中耳將聲音傳入內耳之中。常見成因包括:耳垢積聚、穿耳膜、中耳積水、耳骨受損等

傳導性弱聽治療方法:傳導性弱聽人士需要先接受詳細聽力測試確認弱聽情況,再由醫生診斷轉介。一般可透過藥物或手術治療,在某些特殊程況下,醫生/聽力專家會建議傳導性弱聽人士選配助聽器

感音神經性 弱聽

感音神經性弱聽: 由於內耳的毛細胞或聽覺神經受損所致。常見成因包括:自然老化、細菌感染內耳、耳水不平衡、頭部受創、服用耳毒性藥物或長期過度曝露於高噪音環境下所造成

感音神經性弱聽治療方法:感音神經性弱聽人士需要先接受詳細聽力測試確認弱聽程度,再由聽力專家驗配助聽器。大部份情況無法透過藥物或手術治療減輕聽障程度,佩戴助聽器能有效改善聽力,嚴重或深度弱聽人士可考慮植入人工耳蝸

混合性 弱聽

混合性弱聽:中耳及內耳的問題同時在同一耳朵出現而造成,即同一耳朵同時間有傳導性弱聽及感音神經性弱聽

混合性弱聽治療方法:混合性弱聽人士有可能透過藥物或手術治療減輕傳導性部份的聽障程度,需按治療後的聽力情況去決定是否需要佩戴助聽器

即時了解你的聽力

想知道 自己 有無聽力問題? 簡單回答幾條問題評估聽力情況。

可唔可以用棉花棒撩耳仔?
專家話你知:

耳垢一般會自然排出,用棉花棒清理會將耳垢越推越入,令耳垢堆積於耳道中。如問題嚴重,可尋找耳鼻喉科醫生清理。

黃栢雄博士
耳仔成日濕濕地點算?
專家話你知:

如問題持續,建議尋找耳鼻喉科醫生處理。

黃栢雄博士
耳鳴有冇得醫?
專家話你知:

耳鳴是一個病徵,而不是一個病症,故此耳鳴不能根治,只可舒緩其問題。

黃栢雄博士
街邊或百貨公司買既擴音機或聽力產品同助聽器有咩分別?
專家話你知:

如從助聽器公司購買助聽器,一般會先進行聽力測試,及後聽力專家會根據聽力檢查結果對助聽器進行調校,更重要的是助聽器公司會提供終生調校服務;如從街邊或百貨公司購買助聽器,助聽器並不會根據每位用家的聽力度數而設,且一般不設售後服務。

黃栢雄博士
助聽器會唔會好嘈?
專家話你知:

對於初次助聽器用家而言,因為弱聽的問題,他們長時間沒有聽到背景聲音。當一戴上助聽器時,那些長久沒有接觸的聲音都被助聽器放大,因此很多時候初次助聽器用家都會覺得很嘈吵,但只要習慣一段時間,情況會有所改善。此外,現時助聽器的減嘈音技術已大大提升,助聽器用家可享更佳的聆聽體驗。

黃栢雄博士
戴住耳筒聽歌訓覺會影響聽力?
專家話你知:

當每晚睡覺時都戴耳機聽音樂時,耳朵便會長時間受到音樂集中刺激,長久下去聽力都可能會受損。

黃栢雄博士
聲音的特性?
專家話你知:

聲音或噪音有兩種特性:頻率(即音調)和聲量。

黃栢雄博士
甚麼是頻率?
專家話你知:

聲音是經媒介(空氣、液體、固體)中的粒子振動而造成的壓力變化,每一秒壓力變化的次數叫作頻率,其量度單位是赫茲(Hz)。

頻率越高,即表示每秒振動次數越多,音調便越高;相反,頻率越低,即每秒的振動次數越少,音調就越低。通常人類耳朵能聽到的聲音頻率範圍由20 –200,000 Hz,而主要語音範圍由500 –4,000 Hz。

黃栢雄博士
怎樣量度聲量大小?
專家話你知:

聲音大小由粒子振動幅大小而決定,響亮的聲音通常有較大的壓力變化,微弱的聲音壓力變化則較小。我們會採用較簡單的量度單位分貝(dB)來量度聲音。正常的人耳能夠聽到最微弱的聲音叫作「聽覺閾」,並定義這水平為0分貝(dB)。

黃栢雄博士